Wednesday, October 18, 2017

L'Orange - Blame The Author (feat. Del The Funky Homosapien) | Official ...

L'Orange & Del The Funky Homosapien's first collaboration is a magical tourney into a strange castle. The new video is stunning. Directed by Alexander Thompson, the video shows an incredibly skilled touch in combining live action, stop motion and animation.

This amalgam of art and magic looms at the spiritual core of L’Orange’s The Ordinary Man­—a record vaguely reminiscent of RJD2’s Deadringer if it actually contained the power to reanimate the dead. It asserts L’Orange in a league with instrumental hip-hop legends like the aforementioned Ohio great, DJ Shadow, Wax Tailor, Blockhead, and the Avalanches. Yet it’s a singularly necromantic work that could only come from the Seattle-by-way-of-North Carolina producer. 

On his third album, L’Orange builds upon his previous catalogue’s cinematic film noir and cabaret jazz fixations, but adds a thematic focus, whimsy, and feverish urgency. It arrives after a tumultuous two-year saga in which a series of tumors grew in L’Orange’s right ear, which eventually led to almost total deafness on that side. Surgeries left him off-balance and dizzy. A natural fear gripped him, causing self-doubt about whether he’d regain the totality of his gift. But as it does quite often, turmoil spurred the producer to create his most poignant body of work. 

Behind the boards, L’Orange shows a master’s precision, playing with pace and tempo, telling a fully- fleshed out narrative with few words. This is The Sorcerer’s Apprentice but far more soulful. If Harry Houdini was a hip-hop head this is what he’d bump. It’s mournful blues with pianos that sparkle like a Tiffany Lamp—smooth as a gypsy stealing a wallet.  Nothing ordinary about it. 

Listen to the new songs today:
Look Around (feat. Oddisee) Spotify | Soundcloud | Bandcamp | Apple
The Difference (feat. Blu & Elzhi) Spotify | Soundcloud | Bandcamp | Apple
The Everyday Illusion  Spotify | Bandcamp | Apple

Tuesday, August 29, 2017

Tanya Morgan - Louder (Official Video)

Published on Aug 23, 2017
YGWY$4 (Download/Stream):

Meet Elijah Gomez, a young hustler from the ATL who personifies the spirit of Tanya Morgan’s Von Pea and Donwill while moving units in the group’s new video for “Louder,” a bass-driven joint off their recently released, fourth LP, ‘YGWY$4’ (You Get What You Pay For).

While previous videos featured the duo dissecting awkward one-night stands and dropping bravado-laced bars out the trunk, Tanya Morgan went for a wholly different, albeit still creative approach for their latest effort. “Louder” centers on the day-to-day business of Elijah, a burgeoning entrepreneur in the music game who moves units and pantomimes the track’s lyrics.

Elijah is also the son of the video’s director, George Gomez, who makes his directorial debut here and shows that he clearly has the necessary chops. He’s the creative director of SOAP Goods Creative and has worked with Tanya Morgan since 2004, most recently providing artwork for ‘YGWY$4’ and 2016’s, ‘Abandoned Theme Park.’

Given that Gomez and SOAP are based out of Atlanta, it’s only fitting the director shot these visuals there as well. He also enlisted some other local ATL talent, such as rising artist Zipporah Joe’l (who plays Elijah’s mother), FRKO (Action Bronson’s illustrator), and Mr. Fahie (a multi-talented artist).

Check out the visuals, and be sure to head over to the digital retailer or streaming platform of your choice to support, ‘YGWY$4.’

• Artist: Tanya Morgan
• Track Title: Louder
• Produced by: Brick Beats for The Lessondary
• Directed by: George Gomez (of SOAP Goods Creative)
• Album: YGWY$4
• Label: Tanya Morgan Music
• Release Date: July 28, 2017

• iTunes:
• Amazon:
• Google Play:
• Spotify:
• Tidal:

Album Press Release:

01. Started (prod. by Astronote)
02. Dirty Stayout (feat. Afaliah) [prod. by Fresh Sinatra]
03. VPND (prod. by Roddy Rod)
04. Trunk Shit (prod. by AEON for The Lessondary)
05. Louder (prod. by Brick Beats for The Lessondary)
06. Slow Me Down (feat. Jermiside) [prod. by Quelle Chris]
07. Cold Modelo (prod. by Kev Brown)
08. Ahead of You (prod. by brandUn Deshay)
09. Transplant Anthem (feat. Lee Sissing) [prod. by Astronote]
10. Peppermint (feat. Sunny Jones & Cyren Young) [prod. by Von Pea for The Lessondary]
11. Filthiest aka LESSLOWWITT!! (feat Ilyas) [prod. by The Beatmaker for The Lessondary]
12. Finish Line (feat. Cyren Young) [prod. by Astronote]

• Tanya Morgan:
• Von Pea:
• Donwill:

Tanya Morgan Online:
• Website:
• Instagram:
• Facebook:

℗ 2017 Tanya Morgan Music. All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws.